Tags

, , ,

A year ago today, I had one of the proudest days of my life so far. Myself and the good friends I had made at Lewes performed A Midsummer Night’s Dream at the Studio/Pavilion Theatre in Brighton! A flawless day, I remember it in a surprising amount of detail. From the many immature

A flawless day, I remember it in a surprising amount of detail. From the many immature laughs we had in the theatre’s dressing room (a proper theatre dressing room!), to sitting with the “not-really-lads” in the Pavilion Gardens on a really sunny day whilst eating McDonalds and looking back at our past two years at Sussex Downs College.

Of course, after a full tech and the dress rehearsal, the day’s climax was the show itself. A full house, with family, friends and my former school drama teacher coming to support me. As Bottom, I was ready to enjoy performing what we had prepared for since January. What I hadn’t prepared for was the sound that then came from the audience: laughter. To hear an audience laughing is an experience I just couldn’t do justice to here, I’d never had it happen to me before and, during a comedic death scene which I shamelessly milked the shit out of, I may have been shouting “DIE” in OTT pain and woe, but internally I was overwhelmed. Everyone made the show a wonderful thing to be a part of. Coming out of that the theatre, I was the proudest I’d ever be.

Thank you guys, it’s a memory I won’t be forgetting any time soon.

